European Cosplay Gathering

European Cosplay Gathering at Japan Expo

The European Cosplay Gathering (ECG), an international cosplay event with roots in Europe’s biggest event for Japanese culture, Japan Expo (France), was established for the purpose of bringing together the different cosplay communities in Europe, to help them share their passion for cosplay, meet new friends and compete on the biggest stage in Europe.


Currently, the ECG features 2 categories; a solo and a group (2-3 man) discipline. This allows the participating cosplayers to choose the type of performance they feel most comfortable with. In the solo discipline, where the cosplayer is alone on stage, he or she can really draw emphasis on him- or herself, while the group discipline allows for more a wide range of dynamic performances.


With no less than 11 participating countries, each with their own set of national preliminaries as well as the grand final round at Japan Expo, the ECG is one of the largest cosplay events in the world.


J-Popcon has the honour of being host for the Danish preliminary rounds of the ECG. The selection of the Danish representatives takes place during the Danish Cosplay Championship (DCC) at the annual convention held at DGI-Byen in Copenhagen. The representatives will be sent on an all-paid trip to Japan Expo in the beginning of July to participate in the ECG finals in front of an audience of a 15.000 people as well as take part in photoshoots, interviews, smaller stage appearances, other related events and social gatherings.

The finals are around the first weekend of July. Departure from Denmark typically on a wednesday, with a return on the following Monday.

Who represented Denmark in the past?


2017Niklas Frandsen

2016 Maria Raarup Corell

2015 Alex Hvidberg

2014 Liv Winkelmann

2013 Josefine Hansen

2012 Liv Winkelmann

2011 Mona Winther


2017 Emma Petersen & Amalia Clemmensen

2016 Louise Hjuler Larsen, Lea Olsen & Sabine Larsen

2015 Line Maria Eriksen & Louise Eriksen

2014 Bára Krossteig & Sabine Larsen

2013 Line Maria Eriksen & Maria Raarup Corell

2012 Ida Kirkegaard, Anne Sofie Andersen & Sigge Ludvigsen

2011 Sørine Karlsson & Abena Kuranchie