Saphira, Portugal

(Cosplay) Name: Saphira

Nationality: Portuguese

Occupation: I suppose I’m a full time crafter xD

Website (other online accounts):


How many years have you been cosplaying?

Around 9 years


What is cosplay to you and how did you get started?

Cosplay has always been a form of expression for me. I studied science and have a master’s in Conservation Biology, so I found I needed an outlet for my creativity. I love thinking in different ways and applying different techniques to problems and cosplay helps me do that. Everything I learn from cosplay I was able to apply to my daily life and studies.

I started cosplaying after discovering a friend did it, and I was attracted to the crafting part, as well as being able to become someone else for a few hours. I was very introverted, insecure and not at all comfortable with my body, and I feel cosplay has helped me a lot with that as well.


What is you most memorable cosplay experience?

Definitely participating in ECG and WCS. They were very different experiences, but what impacted me most about both was how many wonderful people I met, from very different backgrounds. Competing internationally has opened my horizons about a lot of things, and I hope I will be able to keep doing it in the future.


Have you been in Denmark/at J-Popcon before, and what are you looking forward to the most?

I have never been to Denmark or J-Popcn, but I am so excited about it, I hear lots of good things every year! I look forward to meeting everyone and I hope you’ll enjoy having me there!